Awards in 2023

IEEE ComSoc CSIM TC Best Journal Paper Award:

  • Hao Zhou, Melike Erol-Kantarci, H. Vincent Poor, “Learning From Peers: Deep Transfer Reinforcement Learning for Joint Radio and Cache Resource Allocation in 5G RAN Slicing”, in IEEE Transactions on Cognitive Communications and Networking, Dec. 2022, pp. 1925-1941.

IEEE ComSoc CSIM TC Conference Best Paper Award

  • R.F. El Khatib, S.A. Elsayed, N. Zorba, H.S. Hassanein, “Optimal proactive resource allocation at the extreme edge”, in Proceedings IEEE ICC, IoT-SN Symp, 2022, pp. 5657-5662.

Awards in 2021

Best Journal Paper Award:

  • Kang, Z. Xiong, D. Niyato, Y. Zou, Y. Zhang and M. Guizani, “Reliable Federated Learning for Mobile Networks,” in IEEE Wireless Communications, vol. 27, no. 2, pp. 72-80, April 2020
  • Chergui and C. Verikoukis, “Offline SLA-Constrained Deep Learning for 5G Networks Reliable and Dynamic End-to-End Slicing,” in IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, vol. 38, no. 2, pp. 350-360, Feb. 2020

Runner up:

  • N. Weerasinghe, V. Casares-Giner, I. A. M. Balapuwaduge and F. Y. Li, “Priority Enabled Grant-Free Access With Dynamic Slot Allocation for Heterogeneous mMTC Traffic in 5G NR Networks,” in IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol. 69, no. 5, pp. 3192-3206, May 2021

Evaluation committee for these awards: Burak Kantarci (chair), Nelson Fonseca, Fabrizio Granelli, Damla Turgut, Luca Foschini

Awards in 2020

Best Paper Award

  1. Li, K. Ota and M. Dong, “LS-SDV: Virtual Network Management in Large-Scale Software-Defined IoT,” in IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, vol. 37, no. 8, pp. 1783-1793, Aug. 2019, doi: 10.1109/JSAC.2019.2927099.

Best Conference Awards shared between :

  1. Bega, M. Gramaglia, M. Fiore, A. Banchs and X. Costa-Perez, “DeepCog: Cognitive Network Management in Sliced 5G Networks with Deep Learning,” IEEE INFOCOM 2019 – IEEE Conference on Computer Communications, Paris, France, 2019, pp. 280-288, doi: 10.1109/INFOCOM.2019.8737488.
  1. Vamvakas, E. E. Tsiropoulou and S. Papavassiliou, “Dynamic Spectrum Management in 5G Wireless Networks: A Real-Life Modeling Approach,” IEEE INFOCOM 2019 – IEEE Conference on Computer Communications, Paris, France, 2019, pp. 2134-2142, doi: 10.1109/INFOCOM.2019.8737443.

Evaluation committee for these awards: Nelson Fonseca (chair)  Periklis Chatzimisios; Michael Devetsikiotis; Ferran Adelantado i Freixer; Fabrizio Granelli; Toktam Mahmoodi; Shahid Mumtaz ; Christos Verikoukis

Awards in 2019

Best Paper Awards:

Marco Mezzavilla, Menglei Zhang, Michele Polese, Russell Ford, Sourjya Dutta, Sundeep Rangan, and Michele Zorzi, “End-to-End Simulation of 5G mmWave Networks,” IEEE COMMUNICATIONS SURVEYS & TUTORIALS, VOL. 20, NO. 3, THIRD QUARTER 2018, pp.2237–2263

Zhenyu Zhou, Junhao Feng, Bo Gu, Bo Ai, Shahid Mumtaz, Jonathan Rodriguez and Mohsen Guizani, “When Mobile Crowd Sensing Meets UAV: Energy-Efficient Task Assignment

and Route Planning” IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol 66 no 11, November 2018, pp.5526-5538

Best Conference Paper:

Paolo Castagno, Vincenzo Mancuso, Matteo Sereno, Marco Ajmone Marsan, “A Simple Model of MTC in Smart Factories,” IEEE Infocom April 2018, pp. 2591-2599

Evaluation committee for these awards: Nelson Fonseca (chair), Jemin Lee, Luca Foschini, Vangelis Angelakis, Fabrizio Granelli

Awards in 2018

Best Paper Awards:

Pietro Marchetta, Valerio Persico, Giuseppe Aceto, Alessio Botta, Antonio Pescapè “Measuring Networks Using IP Options” IEEE Network, vol 31 issue 3, 2017

Haijun Zhang, Site Huang, Chunxiao Jiang, Keping Long, Victor C.M. Leung, and H. Vincent Poor

“Energy Efficient User Association and Power Allocation in Millimeter Wave Based Ultra Dense Networks with Energy Harvesting Base Stations”, IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, vol 35 issue 9, 2017

Best Conference Paper:

 Gaolei Li, Mianxiong Dong, Kaoru Ota, Jun Wu, Jianhua Li, Tianpeng Ye, “Towards QoE Named Content-Centric Wireless Multimedia Sensor Networks with Mobile Sinks,” IEEE International Conference on Communications 2017

Evaluation committee for these awards: Nelson Fonseca (chair), Anteneh Atumo, Rizwan Asghar, Charalompos Skianis, Angelos Antonopoulos

Awards in 2017

Best Papers Award

Al-Anbagi, M. Erol-Kantarci, H. T. Mouftah “A Survey on Cross-layer Quality of Service Approaches in WSNs for Delay and Reliability Aware Applications” published in IEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials

  1. Khan, M. H. Rehmani, and M. Reisslein “Cognitive Radio for Smart Grids: Survey of Architectures, Spectrum Sensing Mechanisms, and Networking Protocols” published in IEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials

Awards in 2016

Best Paper Award

A.Svigeij, R.Sernec, K.Alic “Network traffic modeling for load prediction: a user-centric approach” published in IEEE Networks Magazine

Distinguished Service Award

Prof. Nelson L.S. da Fonseca, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brasil